Skip to main content

New Visions Charter High School for the Humanities II (HUM): The Great Gatsby

Great Websites of The Great Gatsby

Additional Great Websites on The Great Gatsby

Summaries, Plot Guides, and Critical Analysis

1.  http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/gatsby/

This great site contains plot overview, character analysis, themes, motifs and symbols.

2. http://www.shmoop.com/great-gatsby/

Another classic website that analyzes all aspects of The Great Gatsby

3. http://www.cliffnotes.com/literature/g/the-great-gatsby/the-great-gatsby-at-a-glance

This site provides superior criticism and a biography of Fitzgerald.

4. http://www.gradesaver.com/the-great-gatsby/

This site provides a study guide, essays, and lesson plans for The Great Gatsby.

5. http://www.thegreatgatsby.com/

This website promotes The Great Gatsby as arguably America's greatest novel.

6.http://60secondrecap.com/decoder/the-great-gatsby/

This is another fine study guide for students on The Great Gatsby.

7.http://xroeads.virginia.edu/~hyper/Fitzgerald/gatsby/cover.html

This is a literary criticism site from Virginia.

8. http://www.online-literature.com/fitzgerald/greatgatsby/

This is a literature network website on The Great Gatsby.

9.http://classiclit.about.com/od/greatgatsbythe/fr/aa_greatgatsby.htm

This site provides reviews, quotes, questions for study and discussion, terms/vocabulary, and a Fitzgerald biography.

 

References Texts

Reference Texts (all of the following are available in most high school and public libraries).

1. Literature and Its Times - published by Gale, c.1997, edited by Joyce Moss and George Wilson, volume 3, p. 146-152.  This contains an excellent chapter on the setting and historical context of The Great Gatsby.  It can also be accessed from the Gale database that students and staff can access from school or from home.

2. Magill's Masterplots - published by Salem Press, c. 1996, edited by Frank Magill, volume 5, p. 2649-2652.  This is a classic work containing good critical analysis and a bibliography.

3. Magill's Survey of American  Literature - published by Salem Press, c.1993., edited by Frank Magill, volume 2, p. 687+.  This is another good Magill title with critical analysis.

4. Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream: Examining Diverse Literature to Understand and Compare Universal Themes, c. 2007,  edited by Anne Marie Hacht,  published by Gale, volume  1, p. 264-276.  This is another superior Gale reference work that contains a Fitzgerald biography, plot summary of The Great Gatsby, the novel's themes, historical overview, criticism, and a bibliography.

5. Novels for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context and Criticism on Commonly Studied Novels, c. 1997, edited by Diane Telgen, published by Gale, volume 2, p. 64-86.  This detailed Gale reference work contains an author biography, plot summary, description of characters,  themes, style, historical context, criticism, and a very good annotated bibliography.

6. Literary Topics: Alienated-Youth Fiction, by Kirk Curnutt, c. 2001, published by Gale, Volume 16, p. 25-26.  This work has a very good chapter on Fitzgerald and The Great Gatsby.

7. F. Scott Fitzgerald: A Collection of Critical Essays, part of the Twentieth Century Views Series, c. 1963, edited by Arthur Mizener, published by Prentice-Hall.  This work is a classic analysis of all of Fitzgerald's works, with a number of essays on The Great Gatsby.

8. F. Scott Fitzgerald: A Collection of Criticism, c. 1973. edited by Kenneth E. Eble, published by McGraw-Hill, part of the Contemporary Studies in Literature series.  This work has an excellent critical analysis of The Great Gatsby.

9. F. Scott Fitzgerald, by Charles E. Shain, c.1961, part of the University of Minnesota Pamphlets on American Writers.  This pamphlet series is similar to the Cliff Notes series on the great authors, and contains fine analysis of The Great Gatsby.

Pro Databases

The Great Gatsby essays and articles from the ProQuest Database

1, Disembodied Voices and Narrating Bodies in The Great Gatsby, by Barbara Hochman,Style, (Spring 1994), p. 95.  Hochman states that The Great Gatsby elicits in the reader a condition like Gatsby's "state of enchantment."

2.Style as Politics in The Great Gatsby, by Janet Giltrow and David Stouck, Studies in  the Novel, (Winter 1997), p. 476-490.  Giltrow and Stouck discusses the question of critical intent and execution by examining the novel's style and linguistics.

3. Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby,by Brian Sutton, The Explicator,(Winter 2000), p. 103-106.  Sutton discusses the interrelationships among the sun-related imagery inThe Great Gatsby.

4. Books: Beautiful But Damned 75 Years After The Great Gatsby, Jason Cowley Remembers F. Scott Fitzgerald's Doomed Youth,by Jason Cowley, The Guardian,(London, Uk), April 8 2000.   This is excellent literary criticism on The Great Gatsby, by the noted critic Jason Cowley.

5. 'The Big Read': Professors Sing the Praises of 'Great Gatsby', by Jeremy Jones, Spartanburg Herald, September 28, 2007.  The author states  that The Great Gatsby is 'first and foremost a love story.

6. "Material Without Being Real": Photography and the End of Reality in The Great Gatsby, by Laura Barrett, Studies in the Novel, (Winter 1998), p. 540-557.  The author maintains that photography is an instrument of instability in The Great Gatsby.

7. Medium of Exchange: The Blue Coupe Dialogue in The Great Gatsby, by Lauraleigh O'Meara,Papers on Language and Literature, (Winter 1994). p. 73.  This noted critic states that Fitzgerald manipulates the automobile as an image and symbol to accomplish a variety of ends in The Great Gatsby.

8. White Skin, White Mask: Passing, Posing, and Performing in The Great Gatsby, by Meredith Goldsmith, Modern Fiction Studies,(Fall 2003), p. 443-468.  Goldsmith argues that The Great Gatsbyshould be read against post-World War I  African American models of identity.

This is merely a sampling of the excellent articles available on The Great Gatsby from the ProQuest database.

The Great Gatsby essays and articles from the Gale Database

 

Reference Critical Essays:

1. Plot Summary: The Great Gatsby - from Discovering Authors, 2003- Gale Database- Provides the plot and character analysis of The Great Gatsby.

2. The Greatness of Gatsby- Exploring Novels, 2003 -Gale database.  This essay from an important critic describes Fitzgerald's great literary achievements in The Great Gatsby.

3. 'Our Gatsby, Our Nick'- Disovering Authors, 2003 -Gale database.  In  this entry, the noted critic discusses the appeal of Jay Gatsby as a tragic hero.

4. Fitzgerald's Gatsby: The World as Ash Heap- Exploring Novels, 2003 - Gale database.  The critic in this article the critic examines The Great Gatsby as the ' powerful embodiment' of the corrupt era in which it is set.

5. Themes and Construction: The Great Gatsby- Exploring Novels, 2003 - Gale database.  This critic examines the way Fitzgerald's themes in The Great Gatsby are a kind of culture clash by his juxtaposing characters from  the west and east.

6. Historical Context:  The Great Gatsby- Exploring Novels, 2003.  This great Gale database explores The Great Gatsby in the historical setting of the Jazz Age, the Roaring Twenties, and the 1929 stock market crash.

7 F(rancis) Scott(Key) Fitzgerald - Discovering Authors, 2003.    This is an excellent biography of Fitzgerald and all his works.

8. Overview of The Great Gatsby- Exploring Novels, 2003.  In this essay the doctoral candidate examines the roles of the major characters in The Great Gatsby.

9. Criticism by Charles E. Shain- Discovering Authors, 2003. The author, an expert for many years on Fitzgerald, provides an overview of Fitzgerald's literary career

10. Overview of F(rancis) Scott (Key) Fitzgerald -Discovering Authors, 2003. This contains an overview of Fitzgerald's works and career.

11. Counterpoint as Technique in The Great Gatsby - Exploring Novels, 2003.   This essay describes Fitzgerald's use of counterpoint in The Great Gatsby, in particular, his technique of setting character against character.

12. A Note on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby - Exploring Novels, 2003.  This critic in this essay asserts that The Great Gatsby is Fitzgerald's critique of the American dream and the outmoted values of traditional America.

13. Nick Carraway and the Imagery of Disorder - Exploring Novels, 2003.  In this essay, the author reflects on the character of Nick Carraway and his role as narrator in The Great Gatsby.

14. F. Scott Fitzgerald - UXL Biographies, 2003.  This entry presents Fitzgerald as the spokesman for the Jazz Age in America.

15. Gatsby: False Prophet of the American Dream - Exploring Novels, 2003.  This work examines the religious imagery in The Great Gatsby.

Critical Essays from Academic Journals:

1. The Great Gatsby and the Obscene Word - College Literature, Fall 2005.  This work explores the novel's use of language.

2. Desire's Second Act: "Race" and The Great Gatsby's Cynical Americanism - Twentieth Century Literature, Summer 2007.  This essay examines the novel's "dynamics of racialization."

3. Carroway's Complaint - Journal of Modern Literature, Fall 2000.   This essay examines Nick Carroway's reflections on the life of Jay Gatsby.

4. Gatsby and the Pursuit of Happiness - Claremont Review of Books, Winter 2003.  This is another excellent critical analysis of The Great Gatsby and its relation to the Jazz Age.

5. Point of View: Telephones, Doubling, and Vicarious Learning in The Great Gatsby - The Midwest Quarterly, Spring 2012.  This work analyzes the novel's various points of view in The Great Gatsby.

6. Oxymoron in The Great Gatsby - Papers on Language and Literature, Summer 2011.  This examines the significant paradoxes throughout Fitzgerald's life and work.

7. The Literary Lineage of Names in The Great Gatsby - Notes on Contemporary Literature, May 2013.   This interesting essay examines Fitzgerald's use of names in The Great Gatsby.

8. 'All Men Are Not Created Equal': F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby: Claire Stocks illustrates How the Narrator's Bias Towards This Novel's Hero Is Central To The Critique of Belief in the American Dream - The English Review, February, 2007. Here, the author, Claire Stocks, questions the title of the book.

 

These works are only a sampling of critical reference works and essays onThe Great Gatsby available from the Gale database.