Skip to main content

New Visions Charter High School for the Humanities II (HUM): Author Study Resources

NYPL Databases

Biblioboard

Mobile library that handles all types of content: books, historical databases, primary source documents, comic books, graphic novels, audio and video, which ae all available through one simple interface.  Users can locate famous primary souces documents from world history or see facsimilies of well known and lesser known literary works from the British Library.

Biography in Context

Provides biographical information on 600,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography.

 

Something About the Author

Biographical profiles of children's authors and artists.

Twayne's Authors Series

Contains the full text of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.  *Twayne's Authors Series  is now available via the Gale Virtual Reference Library eBook platform

 

Author Resources

Enrich your future author studies by taking advantage of our collection of biographies and interviews with the best-loved authors in children's literature.

Links to Book Talk Resources

Online Resources

Online Sources:

TeachingBooks.net: Multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators.  Includes interviews, readings, book trailers, lesson plans and links to author sites.

Worldbookonline: Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, videos, maps and more.

Scholastic's Author & Illustrator Index: Biographies, interviews (for some authors) and book lists with details about grade/interest levels and themes.